0141 332 0229 admin@thegctc.com

COSCA Certificate in Counselling Skills

Popular course in gaining a wider understanding of the therapeutic approach towards communication

Course Information

This popular course offers participants a wider understanding of the therapeutic approach towards communication. Many organisations require their staff or volunteers to complete this programme as part of their CPD.

About the course

Students are encouraged to explore their own values and beliefs systems to help them learn about how counselling and therapy works by understanding the tools first hand through experiential learning.

This qualification is widely recognised by many counselling training organisations as a pre requisite for entry onto a counselling diploma programme. Indeed this is the benchmark qualification for our own Diploma in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (DipCBT) programme.

The course consists of 4 interdependent modules of 30 hours. We are offering access to the course either in the evenings or with full day attendance.

Eligibility

There are no specific pre- entry requirement for this course. However there is an interview required for entry on to the course.

We will ask for all students to apply for a PVG Scheme Membership for work with protected adults with us as the counter-signatory, upon acceptance due to the nature of the course (for a new membership or if your PVG scheme only allows work with children it will be £59 and if you have an existing membership for work with protected adults it will be £18 for a record scheme update).

Award

COSCA Certificate in Counselling Skills – SCQF level 8 – 40 credits

Apply Now

Download the application form for the COSCA course.

Available in Microsoft Word and Adobe PDF formats.

Microsoft WordMicrosoft Word Format

Adobe PDF FormatAdobe PDF format.

Module 1 – Glasgow City Centre

Start Date

Monday evenings with 1 full day Saturday per module from 29th January 2018 – 6pm-9pm on Monday evenings.

The dates for this course are:

  1. Monday 29th January 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  2. Monday 5th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  3. Monday 12th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  4. Monday 19th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Monday 26th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  6. Saturday 3rd March 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  7. Saturday 3rd March 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  8. Monday 5th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Monday 12th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Monday 19th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

or

 

Wednesday Days from – 14th February 2018  – 9:30am-4:30pm* (with a 1 hour lunch from 12:30pm-1:30pm)

The dates for this course are:

  1. Wednesday 14th February 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  2. Wednesday 14th February 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  3. Wednesday 21st February 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  4. Wednesday 21st February 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  5. Wednesday 28th February 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Wednesday 28th February 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Wednesday 7th March 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  8. Wednesday 7th March 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  9. Wednesday 14th March 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  10. Wednesday 14th March 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm

 

Please note – COSCA requires 85% attendance minimum per module to pass

 

Venue

Both classes will be held at our office in Glasgow City Centre – Rothesay House, 134 Douglas Street, Glasgow G2 4HF

 

Cost

£300 per module (inclusive of VAT). Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page.

 

 

 

Module 2 – Glasgow City Centre

Eligibility

Successful completion of module 1 is required for entry on to Module 2.

Start Date

Friday 3rd November 2017 – 9:30am-4:30pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Friday 3rd November 2017 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  2. Friday 3rd November 2017 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  3. Friday 10th November 2017 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  4. Friday 10th November 2017 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  5. Friday 17th November 2017 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Friday 17th November 2017 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Friday 24th November 2017 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  8. Friday 24th November 2017 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  9. Friday 1st December 2017 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  10. Friday 1st December 2017 – 1:30pm-4:30pm

 

or

 

Wednesday 22nd November 2017 – 6pm-9pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Wednesday 22nd November 2017 – 6pm-9pm
  2. Wednesday 29th November 2017 – 6pm-9pm
  3. Wednesday 6th December 2017 – 6pm-9pm
  4. Wednesday 13th December 2017 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Wednesday 17th January 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  6. Wednesday 24th January 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  7. Wednesday 31st January 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  8. Wednesday 7th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Wednesday 14th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Wednesday 21st February 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

or

 

Wednesday 4th April 2018 – 9:30am-4:30pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Wednesday 4th April 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  2. Wednesday 4th April 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  3. Wednesday 11th April 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  4. Wednesday 11th April 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  5. Wednesday 18th April 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Wednesday 18th April 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Wednesday 25th April 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  8. Wednesday 25th April 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  9. Wednesday 2nd May 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  10. Wednesday 2nd May 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm

 

or

 

Monday 9th April 2018 – 6pm-9pm (and will include 1 Saturday 9:30am-4:30pm). This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Monday 9th April 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  2. Monday 16th April 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  3. Monday 23rd April 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  4. Monday 30th April 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Saturday 5th May 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Saturday 5th May 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Monday 14th May 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  8. Monday 21st May 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Monday 4th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Monday 11th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

Please note – COSCA requires 85% attendance minimum per module to pass

 

Venue

Both classes will be held at our office in Glasgow City Centre – Rothesay House, 134 Douglas Street, Glasgow G2 4HF

Cost

£300 per module. Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page. http://www.glasgowcognitivetherapycentre.com/funding/

 

 

 

Module 3 – Glasgow City Centre

Eligibility

Successful completion of module 2 is required for entry on to Module 3.

 

Start Date

Friday 19th January 2018 – 9:30am-4:30pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Friday 19th January 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  2. Friday 19th January 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  3. Friday 26th January 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  4. Friday 26th January 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  5. Friday 2nd February 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Friday 2nd February 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Friday 9th February 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  8. Friday 9th February 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  9. Friday 16th February 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  10. Friday 16th February 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm

 

or

Wednesday 28th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Wednesday 28th February 2018 -6pm-9pm
  2. Wednesday 7th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  3. Wednesday 14th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  4. Wednesday 21st March 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Wednesday 11th April 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  6. Wednesday 18th April 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  7. Wednesday 25th April 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  8. Wednesday 2nd May 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Wednesday 9th May 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Wednesday 16th May 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

 

or

Wednesday 23rd May 2018 – 9:30am-4:30pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Wednesday 23rd May 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  2. Wednesday 23rd May 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  3. Wednesday 30th May 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  4. Wednesday 30th May 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  5. Wednesday 6th June 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Wednesday 6th June 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Wednesday 13th June 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  8. Wednesday 13th June 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  9. Wednesday 20th June 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  10. Wednesday 20th June 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm

 

or

Monday 18th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Monday 18th June 2018 -6pm-9pm
  2. Saturday 23rd June 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  3. Saturday 23rd June 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  4. Monday 25th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Monday 27th August 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  6. Monday 3rd September 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  7. Monday 10th September 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  8. Monday 17th September 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Monday 24th September 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Monday 1st October 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

Please note – COSCA requires 85% attendance minimum per module to pass

Venue

All classes will be held at our office in Glasgow City Centre – Rothesay House, 134 Douglas Street, Glasgow G2 4HF

 

Cost

£300.00 (Inclusive of VAT) Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page. http://www.glasgowcognitivetherapycentre.com/funding/

 

Module 4 – Glasgow City Centre

Eligibility

Successful completion of module 3 is required for entry on to Module 4.

 

Start Date

Monday 15th January 2018 – 6pm-9pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Monday 15th January 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  2. Monday 22nd January 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  3. Monday 29th January 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  4. Monday 5th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Monday 12th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  6. Monday 19th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  7. Monday 26th February 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  8. Monday 5th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Monday 12th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Monday 19th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

Or

Friday 9th March 2018 – 9:30am-4:30pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Friday 9th March 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  2. Friday 9th March 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  3. Friday 16th March 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  4. Friday 16th March 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  5. Friday 23rd March 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Friday 23rd March 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Friday 20th April 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  8. Friday 20th April 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  9. Friday 27th April 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  10. Friday 27th April 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm

 

Or

Wednesday 23rd May 2018 – 6pm-9pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Wednesday 23rd May 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  2. Wednesday 30th May 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  3. Wednesday  6th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  4. Wednesday 13th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Wednesday 20th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  6. Wednesday 27th June 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  7. Wednesday 29th August 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  8. Wednesday 5th September 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Wednesday 12th September 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Wednesday 19th September 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

Or

Wednesday 29th August 2018 – 9:30am-4:30pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Wednesday 29th August 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  2. Wednesday 29th August 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  3. Wednesday 5th September 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  4. Wednesday 5th September 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  5. Wednesday 12th September 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Wednesday 12th September 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Wednesday 19th September 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  8. Wednesday 19th September 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  9. Wednesday 26th September 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  10. Wednesday 26th September 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm

 

Or

Monday 8th October – 6pm-9pm. This course will run on the following dates:

  1. Monday 8th October 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  2. Monday 22nd October 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  3. Monday 29th October 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  4. Monday 5th November 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  5. Saturday 10th November 2018 – 9:30am-12:30pm
  6. Saturday 10th November 2018 – 1:30pm-4:30pm
  7. Monday 12th November 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  8. Monday 19th November 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  9. Monday 26th November 2018 – 6pm-9pm
  10. Monday 3rd December 2018 – 6pm-9pm

 

Please note – COSCA requires 85% attendance minimum per module to pass

 

Venue

All classes will be held at our office in Glasgow City Centre – Rothesay House, 134 Douglas Street, Glasgow G2 4HF

 

Cost

£300 per module (Inclusive of VAT). Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page. http://www.glasgowcognitivetherapycentre.com/funding/

 

Module 1 – Ayr

Start Date

TBA

 

Duration

10 Weeks

 

Venue

Ayrshire Hospice

*please note that this course will only run if we have sufficient numbers.

 

Cost

£300.00 (Inclusive of VAT) Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page.

Module 2 – Ayr

Start Date

TBA

Duration

10 sessions.

Venue

Ayrshire Hospice

Eligibility

Successful completion of Module 1 of the COSCA Certificate in Counselling Skills.

Cost

£300 per module (inclusive of VAT). Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page.

Module 3 – Ayr

Start Date

Tuesday 12th December 2017 6pm-9pm

 

Duration

10 sessions, there will be a break for Christmas/New Years’, so will finish on 6th March 2018.

 

Venue

Ayrshire Hospice

 

Cost

£300 per module (inclusive of VAT). Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page.

Module 4 – Ayr

Start Date

Tuesday 13th March 2018 – 6pm-9pm

Duration

10 sessions, there will be a break for Easter, so will finish on 29th May 2018.

Venue

Ayrshire Hospice

 

Cost

£300 per module (inclusive of VAT). Please note, there is a SAAS part-time fee grant for eligible students who undertake all 4 modules of the course. For more information, please visit our funding page.

Considering Studying as a Therapist?

Find out more about becoming a therapist. Why not come along to one of our taster sessions.

Thanks for your email. We will be in touch soon.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This